Around Quebec City

Victoriaville should ring a bell for any one who has played hockey…they make the famous hockey sticks. I remember them from my (short and without distinction) hockey career.

The bicycle trail runs right through the heart of the city (as an old railway line should!), and it seems that in the evening half the town is either cycling or walking the trail (I walked).

The next day, cycling to Quebec City, there were a lot more people on the trail than there had been approaching Victoriaville. What was really quaint was the number of couples in their 50s, 60s, and even 70s. Cycling together seems to be a popular pastime for older couples in this area. One guy (in his 70s I think) rode alongside me for a while and we chatted about our respective bike trips. He has cycled through many European countries and intends to add to his list. I think he would have passed me even if I didn’t have a fully loaded bike.

A last-mile glitch prolonged the cycle into Levis. The bridge at Parc des Chutes de la Chaudiere has been out for repairs for the past month. A 10km detour just within sight of the destination.

Most people I know have visited Quebec City and think it’s a real gem. A city that is as modern as any other in Canada, but with a charm and history like no other. This trip made me realise that I really should come back and spend time on the island (Ile d’Orleans)…one more for the bucket list. Even better would be on a motorcycle.

20190821_112012

The next day started off badly, and kept getting worse until a silver lining appeared. It was raining when I started, but decided to go out anyways. It stopped shortly afterwards. Later on, it started and stopped again. Each time, I could see some clear skies to the west, so I didn’t think the rain would last. The third time, however, the rain was clearly something that would continue for a long time. So I pulled over and grabbed a bite to eat. The person behind the counter recommended a B&B in town. It turned out to be perfect. Did a laundry and relaxed in a charming old house along the St Laurent.

20190821_144753

Published by

acrosscanadabybike355282642

Hi! I am a Canadian who has been living Israel for five years. While I made my home here in the Middle East, the rest of my family is far-away in Canada. In order to bridge the distance and encourage my dad in his endeavours, I decided to start a blog that will document an amazing journey my dad is undertaking this summer. He plans to bike thousands of kilometers across Canada from Vancouver back to our home town of Ottawa. His journey starts July 8th 2018. Stay posted!

Leave a comment